PSN ID change in preview, will be available to all in 2019

2

We’ve waited a long time for this...

It’s official: all PS3, PS4 and PS Vita users will be able to change their PSN ID by next year at the latest.

“We’re happy to announce that we will soon begin testing the long-awaited feature that will allow users to change their PlayStation Network Online ID from their PlayStation 4 system,” Sony’s Sid Sherman wrote on the PlayStation Blog. “The PSN Online ID Change feature beta will be a part of the PlayStation Preview Program, and will become available to select users that have pre-registered as testers for previous PlayStation 4 system software betas.”

Much like Microsoft’s Gamertag change system, the first change is free and subsequent changes will come at a cost — €9.99/£7.99 or €4.99/£3.99 for PlayStation Plus members, to be exact. We’re confirming Australian pricing now.

Those in a PS4 software beta can change their PSN ID via the Settings menu or the Profile page on their console. Users will have the option to display their old ID alongside their new one, but this feature has to be selected during the process and can’t be changed.

Sony advised that the PSN ID change mightn’t be compatible with all games.

“This feature is compatible with PS4 games originally published after 1st April 2018, and a large majority of the most played PS4 games that were released before this date. However, please note not all games and applications for PS4, PS3 and PS Vita systems are guaranteed to support the online ID change, and users may occasionally encounter issues or errors in certain games,” the post reads.

“If for any reason you experience issues after changing your ID, you can revert back to your original ID for free at any time (you will only be able to revert once during the preview program). Reverting back to an old ID will resolve most issues caused by the ID change. In addition, when this feature officially launches, a list of compatible games published before April 1, 2018, will be provided on PlayStation.com for reference before you make a change.”

The preview program will end at the end of November; the feature is planned for a 2019 for all users.