PlayStation Network to limit sharing of purchased games

0

In the past, you could buy PlayStation Network content and use it on as many devices as you wished. Saavy gamers bought content, shared it with their friends and their own devices, and vice versa.

No more.

The PlayStation UK blog has outlined an upcoming change to PlayStation 3 and PSP game content on the PlayStation Network, as follows:

As of November 18, 2011, the number of devices that can be activated on one PlayStation Network account for game content purchased from the PlayStation Store will be updated.

For game content purchased after November 18, 2011, a new policy will apply and the number of devices that can be activated will be as follows:

  • PS3: Users will be able to play the game on up to 2 activated PS3 systems.
  • PSP: Users will be able to play the game on up to 2 activated PSP systems.

Please note that this update will not affect game content purchased before November 18.  The PSP rights include PSP-1000/2000/3000 series as well as the PSPgo system.

PlayStation Network users are able to change the activation setting through each device, and Sony Computer Entertainment plans to provide a new PlayStation Network account management website where users will be able to deactivate particular devices attached to their PlayStation Network account via their PC.

For more details on how to activate/deactivate the devices, please read this guide or contact consumer services.

As Australia and New Zealand are tagged in the post, it’s logical to assume these restrictions will be placed on our own countries.

This move puts PlayStation Network content in a similar DRM position as items purchased on Microsoft’s Xbox Live network. On Xbox, users can use content on any console they’re logged into Xbox Live with, and can authorise one console where any user has access to those purchases.