Overwatch League adds new Canadian, European, Chinese teams


With 20 total teams playing next season.

The Overwatch League is now twenty teams strong, adding teams from Vancouver, Toronto and Paris.

These newest additions means eight new teams — including Washington, Chengdu, Hangzhou, Atlanta and Guangzhou — will compete in the league’s next season.

The new Vancouver team will be operated by Aquilini Group, the same organisation that owns the NHL’s Vancouver Canucks. The Toronto team will be operated by OverActive Media and the Paris squad by DM Esports. Finally, Hangzhou will be run by Bilibili and Chengdu by livestreaming company Huya.


Teams can sign players from now until 7 October, and each team must have at least eight contracted players by 1 December.

We’ll have more on the next season of the Overwatch League as it becomes available.

Overwatch is currently available on Windows PC, Xbox One and PS4.