Esports

Overwatch Contenders’ IEM Sydney champion will head to Shanghai

The four Overwatch Contenders Australia finalist teams have been announced ahead of the big event at IEM Sydney in early May.

Set to take place at Sydney’s Qudos Bank Arena over 4-5 May, the teams include the Sydney Drop Bears, ORDER, Blank Esports and Melbourne Mavericks, who each will be duking it out for a chunk of a $100,000 USD seasonal prize pool. Moreover, the winning team will secure a spot in the Overwatch Contenders Pacific Showdown in Shanghai in late May.

IEM Sydney matches

The following matches will take place at IEM Sydney to crown the Overwatch Contenders Australia champion:

Saturday, 4 May

  • Semi Final 1: 4:00pm AEST / 6:00pm NZST – Sydney Drop Bears vs. Melbourne Mavericks
  • Semi Final 2: 6:00pm AEST / 8:00pm NZST – ORDER vs. Blank Esports

Sunday, 5 May

  • Grand Final: 12:30pm AEST / 2:30pm NZST – Winner of SF1 vs. Winner of SF2

Catch all the Overwatch Contenders Australia action at IEM Sydney, or watch live via the Overwatch Contenders Twitch channel at the below times:

The Overwatch Contenders Australia 2019 Season 1 champion will then battle the top two teams from China and Korea and the top team from Contenders Pacific in Shanghai:

Overwatch Contenders Pacific Showdown matches

Friday, 24 May

  • Upper bracket round 1 and round 2: from 3:00pm AEST / 5:00pm NZST

Saturday, 25 May

  • Lower bracket round 1, round 2, and upper bracket round 3: from 3:00pm AEST / 5:00pm NZST

Sunday, 26 May

  • Lower bracket finals, Grand Finals: from 3:00pm AEST / 5:00pm NZST

Good luck to competing teams.

Overwatch is available now on Windows PC, Xbox One and PS4.


This article may contain affiliate links, meaning we could earn a small commission if you click-through and make a purchase. Stevivor is an independent outlet and our journalism is in no way influenced by any advertiser or commercial initiative.

About the author

Steve Wright

Steve's the owner of this very site and an active games journalist for the past ten years. He's a Canadian-Australian gay gaming geek, ice hockey player and fan. Husband to Matt and cat dad to Wally and Quinn.