Australian Games Awards (AGAs) announced, fan voting commences soon


The inaugural Australian Games Awards (AGAs) were today announced by Trade Media.

To be held at Sydney’s Luna Park on 19 December, the awards “will be the most complete recognition of Australian gaming culture, with awards across games, accessories, games journalism, esports and content creation,” Trade Media said in a press release.

Twenty-nine categories will form the awards, with each voter in by the Australian gaming community.

Nominations for the following awards are open today and will close on 18 November:

  • Action/Adventure Title of the Year
  • Audio Brand of the Year
  • Australian Developed Game of the Year
  • Breakout Creator of the Year
  • Controller and Accessories Brand of the Year
  • Cosplayer of the Year
  • Creator of the Year
  • Esports Personality of the Year
  • Esports Title of the Year
  • Family/Kids Title of Year
  • Game Of The Year
  • Gaming Publication of the Year
  • Independent Game of the Year
  • Journalist of the Year
  • Mixer Creator of the Year
  • Mobile/Handheld Title of the Year
  • Multiplayer/Online Title of the Year
  • Organisation of the Year
  • Play of the Year
  • Player of the Year
  • RPG of the Year
  • Shooter of the Year
  • Social Media God
  • Sports, Racing or Fighting Title of the Year
  • Strategy Title of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • The Gamechanger
  • Twitch Creator of the Year
  • YouTube Creator of the Year

Voting will commence shortly after the nomination period.

Moreover, 200 Ultimate Fans “will also be able to celebrate alongside finalists and the Australian Games Industry,” Trade Media announced. “Tickets are available through EB Games, the official retail partner of the AGAs, at $199[AUD]. Along with all the celebrations, these fans will receive food, drinks, and commemorative exclusive swag – with further inclusions to be announced in the lead up to the event.”

We’ll have more on the AGAs as information is made available.