Home » News » Aussies Maize Wallin, Chantal Ryan part of The Game Awards Future Class 2022

Aussies Maize Wallin, Chantal Ryan part of The Game Awards Future Class 2022


Aussie composer Maize Wallin (pictured above) and designer Chantal Ryan have been included in the 2022 The Game Awards Future Class, alongside 48 other up-and-coming creatives.

Wallin is a long-time voice inside the Aussie games industry, and has worked on titles including Godfall, Receiver 2 and local indie classic Wayward Strand.

They’re also a co-founder of Australia’s first national trade union for the games industry, Game Workers Australia.

Ryan is the founder of We Have Always Lived in The Forest and produces “narrative games and systems built upon disruptive language technologies” including darkwebSTREAMER.

The full list of the 2022 The Game Awards Future Class is as follows:

  • Abbey Sherlock
  • Alex Dunn
  • Alyssa Askew
  • Anna C. Webster
  • Annie Grudeva
  • Ashley Poprik
  • Audrey Leprince
  • Camila Gormaz
  • Camille Ramseur
  • Chantal Ryan
  • Chloe Sinclair
  • Chris Kindred
  • Dora Klindžić
  • Emily Pitcher
  • Fawzi Mesmar
  •  Florence Smith Nicholls
  • Harris Foster
  • Indrani Ganguly
  • Iris Zhang
  • Ivan Phelan
  • Jade Leamcharaskul
  • Jay Justice
  • JC Lau
  • Jes Negrón
  • Jess E. Tompkins
  • Jessica Cheng
  • Joshi Zhang
  • Leela Collins
  • Leon Y. Xiao
  • Maah G. Lopez
  • Maize Wallin
  • Malek Teffaha
  • Mary Kenney
  • Masao Kobayashi
  • Mashfiq Ahmed
  • May Wong
  • Michael Reynolds
  • Mik Minier
  • Nick Kaman
  • Noelle Mazurek
  • Paula Angela Escuadra
  • Rejon Taylor-Foster
  • Sham AlBdour
  • Sol Sánchez
  • Sophie Azlan
  • Stacey Jenkins
  • Steph McStea
  • Vijiay Gill
  • Younès Rabii
  • ZW Buckley

Apologies if there are other Aussies to be found in this list (and please hit me up if there are; I’m in Indonesia and on very limited internet, I’m afraid).

If you’d like to learn more about this year’s Future Class, head here. If you’re keen on reading up about Maize, head to their website here.

The Game Awards 2022, which airs 9 December here in Australia; Stevivor is proud to continue serving as a member of The Game Awards’ voting jury.

Update: We didn’t include Chantal Ryan’s inclusion in our original post, but have corrected this thanks to a notification from reader Adrian Webb. Many thanks, Adrian!

This article may contain affiliate links, meaning we could earn a small commission if you click-through and make a purchase. Stevivor is an independent outlet and our journalism is in no way influenced by any advertiser or commercial initiative.

About the author

Steve Wright

Steve's the owner of this very site and an active games journalist for close to fifteen years. He's a Canadian-Australian gay gaming geek, ice hockey player and fan. Husband to Matt and cat dad to Wally and Quinn.