Home » News » One-time Destiny 2 name change available from tomorrow
News

One-time Destiny 2 name change available from tomorrow

Hate your name? You'll soon be able to fix it.

A one-time Destiny 2 name change will be available to players from tomorrow, 11 March, developer Bungie has advised.

Destiny 2 update 3.3.0 — which helped to bring about crossplay between platforms — also made it so players would see their Bungie name displayed in-game rather than their preferred account name, which lead to some players being referred to as “Guardian0342” rather than “BongRipper69” or whatever gamertag you prefer. Bungie today advised players will now have a single opportunity to correct this.

“Tomorrow, a one-time name change will become available for all players to update their Bungie name by logging in to Bungie.net,” Bungie advised.

“This one-time name change will become available after Hotfix 4.0.0.3 goes live tomorrow morning at 9:00 AM PST (1700 UTC).”

That corresponds to 4.00 am AEDT tomorrow, 11 March, here in Australia.

Destiny 2 is currently available on Windows PC, Xbox One, Xbox Series S, Xbox Series X, PS4, PS5 and Stadia. We reviewed its recent expansion, The Witch Queen, right here.



This article may contain affiliate links, meaning we could earn a small commission if you click-through and make a purchase. Stevivor is an independent outlet and our journalism is in no way influenced by any advertiser or commercial initiative.

About the author

Steve Wright

Steve's the owner of this very site and an active games journalist for close to fifteen years. He's a Canadian-Australian gay gaming geek, ice hockey player and fan. Husband to Matt and cat dad to Wally and Quinn.