Halo, Final Fantasy VII, Resident Evil make the Video Game Hall of Fame


The Strong National Museum of Play’s Video Game Hall of Fame has announced its 2017 inductees, including the likes of Halo: Combat Evolved, Final Fantasy VII and Resident Evil.

Here’s this year’s full list:

  • Donkey Kong
  • Final Fantasy VII
  • Halo: Combat Evolved
  • Windows Solitaire
  • Mortal Kombat
  • Myst
  • Pokemon Red and Green
  • Portal
  • Resident Evil
  • Street Fighter II
  • Tomb Raider
  • Wii Sports

Each title above was included for its cultural significance alongside its “undeniable impact in the world of gaming and popular culture,” said The Strong Museum’s Jon-Paul C. Dyson.

The museum, based in Rochester, New York, started the Hall of Fame last year. 2016’s inductees include Doom, Oregon Trail, The Legend of Zelda, Pac-Man and Pong. More information about the Hall of Fame can be found here.

What do you think of the list above?