Home » Features » In-depth » Destiny 2 Warmind expansion: All you need to know

Destiny 2 Warmind expansion: All you need to know

A special Destiny 2 Warmind expansion livestream has revealed quite a lot about the game’s upcoming content drop, and we’ve gathered all the information together for you below.

Here’s what to expect.

Warmind’s location, setting & new enemy

As expected, Warmind will take place on Mars — specifically, on the polar ice caps of the planet, in a region called Hallas Basin — after the awakening of the Warmind named Rasputin.

A new character called Ana Bray will serve as the expansion’s vendor, dropping information about the Clovis Bray corporation.

Players will be tasked to fight a new faction of Hive called the Grasp of Nokris. They’re essentially ice-based Hive, “dormant in the frozen wastes of Mars for centuries,” according to Bungie.

Escalation Protocol endgame activity

Escalation Protocol is Warmind‘s newest endgame activity, and functions much like a Public Event. Unlike Public Events, they’re not scheduled and must be triggered to actually start.

Once a player activates a pillar, the event will start. It functions like a Horde mode, with seven waves of enemies to fight, each with its own boss fight before a grand finale boss encounter.

Escalation Protocol will have five unique final bosses that will rotate week-to-week. The new endgame activity will require players to first complete Warmind‘s story and will also have unique rewards tied to the event. One such reward is the Valkyrie, a javelin that can function as a melee weapon and also something ranged like a rocket launcher.

Spire of Stars Raid Lair

Spire of Stars has been named as Warmind‘s Raid Lair. Not much else is known of the event, though it appears to be taking place in the Leviathan’s large tower.

New Strikes

Two new Strikes will be added to Warmind across Windows PC, Xbox One and PS4: Will of the Thousands and Strange Terrain.

“Rasputin’s neural network is under attack,” Bungie says of Will of the Thousands. “Take the Valkyrie and use it to defeat a monstrous foe.”

“Descend deep into the tunnels near Hellas Basin and take the fight to the Herald of Xol,” Bungie says of Strange Terrain. “Stop this Hive Prince before he can funnel more power to the worm god.”

Crucible changes

Two big changes will head to Crucible thanks to Warmind: private matches and Crucible rankings.

Rankings are split into two main paths: Valor and Glory ranks. Valor will let you progress over time with no penalty for dropouts, while Glory is attached to competitive playlists. Rewards are attached to each path.

Two new maps — Solutide and Survival — will required Warmind ownership and can be used in Destiny 2‘s new private match system.

Timed exclusive PlayStation Content

Those on PS4 will also get access to a third new Strike called The Insight Terminus.

“Zavala needs a team of Guardians to break into a Vex tomb on Nessus that has been overrun by the Cabal,” Bungie said, detailing the content in a press release.

“Defeat the powerful Psion commander before he can take over the Vex gateway network and reap the rewards.”

PS4 owners will also get new Armour as part of the timed exclusive content.

Destiny 2 Warmind expansion livestream

Want to watch the full livestream yourself? Easy done — it’s below.

Destiny 2‘s newest expansion, Warmind, heads to Windows PC, Xbox One and PS4 on 8 May.

This article may contain affiliate links, meaning we could earn a small commission if you click-through and make a purchase. Stevivor is an independent outlet and our journalism is in no way influenced by any advertiser or commercial initiative.

About the author

Steve Wright

Steve's the owner of this very site and an active games journalist nearing twenty (TWENTY!?!) years. He's a Canadian-Australian gay gaming geek, ice hockey player and fan. Husband to Matt and cat dad to Wally and Quinn.