Home News Esports Tetris 99 tournament offers $9,990 prize pool

Tetris 99 tournament offers $9,990 prize pool

As long as you're in the USA, Canada or Mexico.

Update: Nintendo Australia and New Zealand has just confirmed we’ll get a seperate tournament, called the 99 Grand Prix, in our region. It will offer a $990 AUD prize pool.

Starting at 12:00am AEDT / 2:00am NZDT on Saturday 9th March and running until 5:59pm AEDT / 7:59pm NZDT on Monday 11th March, a special online event will be held in TETRIS 99: the TETRIS 99 Grand Prix,” a press release confirmed.

Our region will provide the top 99 players with 999 Gold Points, or the equivalent of $9.99 AUD / $9.99 NZD. More info can be found here.

Original story: A special Tetris 99 tournament will offer up a $9,990 USD prize pool this weekend.

Those in the USA, Canada (excluding Quebec) and Mexico are invited to play in the tournament, dubbed the Maximus Cup, from 8 March. To play for a prize, you’ll be required to rack up as many 1st place finishes in the puzzle-based battle royale mode before the tournament ends on 10 March.

All up, the top 999 placements in the tournament will be rewarded with 999 Nintendo Coins, which translates to about $10 USD in eShop credit. For more, head here.

Sounds cool, we guess, but since we’re here in Australia it’s all moot. Shame, eh?

Tetris 99 is a free download on Nintendo Switch for those in the Nintendo Switch Online subscription program.

 

Steve Wrighthttps://www.stevivor.com
Steve's the owner of this very site and an active games journalist for the past ten years. He's a Canadian-Australian gay gaming geek, ice hockey player and fan. Husband to Matt and cat dad to Wally and Quinn.

3 COMMENTS