Home » News » FFXIV Shadowbringers’ Rak’Tika Greatwood, Il Mheg areas detailed

FFXIV Shadowbringers’ Rak’Tika Greatwood, Il Mheg areas detailed

Two new areas — the Rak’Tika Greatwood and Il Mheg — were today detailed ahead of the release of Final Fantasy XIV Shadowbringers.

Rak’Tika Greatwood

First, the Rak’Tika Greatwood is a lush forest with blue, glowing orbs nestled amongst its trees. Cities are also located up in those same trees, Producer Naoki Yoshida detailed.

Yoshida also said the area is home to “unique residents” but didn’t elaborate further.

Il Mheg

Next is Il Mheg, the Realm of the Pixies, a fanatical fantasy world. Yoshida confirmed that Pixies are tricksters, though “not as much a pain in the ass as the Moogles.”

The realm is ruled by the Pixies’ Regent, Titania, who will also serve as Shadowbringers‘ new Primal. The battle with the Primal will be a main plot point within the new expansion, Yoshida confirmed.

Check out Il Mheg below:

Final Fantasy XIV Shadowbringers heads to Windows PC and PS4 from 2 July 2019.

Steve Wright was flown by Square Enix to attend the FFXIV Fan Festival. Flights and accommodation were paid by Square Enix.

This article may contain affiliate links, meaning we could earn a small commission if you click-through and make a purchase. Stevivor is an independent outlet and our journalism is in no way influenced by any advertiser or commercial initiative.

About the author

Steve Wright

Steve's the owner of this very site and an active games journalist for the past ten years. He's a Canadian-Australian gay gaming geek, ice hockey player and fan. Husband to Matt and cat dad to Wally and Quinn.