Overwatch League: The first seven teams now detailed
13 Jul 2017   Home » News » eSports » Overwatch League: The fir... Share

Overwatch League: The first seven teams now detailed

It's getting serious.

The first seven teams of the Overwatch League have been confirmed today by Blizzard.

As rumoured, franchises have been established in USA, China and South Korea.

The following teams, alongside their owners, have been confirmed:

  • Boston (Robert Kraft)
  • New York (Jeff Wilpon)
  • Los Angeles (Noah Whinston)
  • Miami-Orlando (Ben Spoont)
  •  San Francisco (Andy Miller)
  • Shanghai (NetEase)
  • Seoul (Kevin Chou)

We don’t have a set launch date for the league, though it has been slated for a spring 2017 start here in Australia.

Blizzard has confirmed that all games in the League’s first season will be held in an eSports arena located in Los Angeles. Subsequent leagues will feature trips to other cities to feature matches on home soil.

We’ll have more on the Overwatch League as it becomes available.

Overwatch is currently available on Windows PC, Xbox One and PS4.

Steve Wright

Steve Wright

Steve's a Canadian-Australian gay gaming geek, freelance journalist, owner of this very site, ice hockey player and fan. Husband to Matt and cat dad to Wally.