Halo 4 introduces Spartan Specializations


Game Info



PUBLISHER(S): Microsoft

PLATFORM(S): Xbox 360


RELEASE DATE(S): 6 November 2012


Well, this will be good news for some, and bad news for others. Recently, 343 has taken to the Halo Waypoint blog to introduce and outline "Specializations" in the upcoming Halo 4.

Halo 4 online multiplayer will now let you choose from one of eight Specializations (I know I'm using a "z" there, but that's what 343 has used, so shhh!), available after your Spartan reaches a rank of Level 50. Each of the character classes have nine levels of unlockable upgrades, including outfits, weapons and armour; a tenth and final level can also be unlocked and grants your Spartan a class-specific ability.

Of the eight Specializations in total, two will be available with Halo 4's launch on 6 November: Pioneer, which allows you to gain XP at an accelerated rate, and Wetworks, which gives your Spartan enhanced Promethean Vision and a quieter sprint.

The other six Specializations -- Engineer, Tracker, Rogue, Stalker, Patherfinder and Operator -- will slowly unlock after launch, unless you've picked up theHalo 4Limited Edition; in that case, you'll have access to all eight from the get-go.

I'm torn on the idea of Specializations, myself. I like the idea, but I'm not crazy on the way the Spartans look more and more like Elites with every passing screenshot I see. What do you think of these changes to the franchise?

About the Author
Steve Wright

Steve Wright, aka Stevivor: A Canadian-Australian gay gaming geek, freelance journalist, sweet games blog owner, ice hockey player/fan, beer aficionado and tech trainer. Steve is proud to be the Australian iiNet TopGeek 2.0! Check him out on Facebook, Twitter and Google+.

  • https://twitter.com/Hokess Hokes

    I think it’s great!!!!! ( hope so!)
    Now I have to choose which one is best for me…
    Engineer looks best but I don’t know until I actually play all of them…good thing is I got the Limited Edition! :)

  • David B

    Yeah, I like the idea as well, as it makes the gameplay a little different after everyone has hit the level cap.
    That being the case, I also worry about the case you made, that the Spartans are looking more like Elites. Lets hope they resolve that before launch.